RSS

Daily Archives: April 11, 2008

Lazy day

Ahhh….my day off.  I’m so glad it’s finally here.  This has been a busy week, as usual, but it has also been nicely productive.  Let’s see…I got my Differential Equations test back from last week.  I made an 86, which is great considering how badly I’d thought I’d done.  I made an A on the first test, and with this B, I know how I want to approach the final here.  If I had done worse on both tests, I would be pushing for a B or a C on the final.  But since I’m scoring much higher than that, now I want to finish the class with an A.  I want an A on the final, and an A for the class.  Asking too much, maybe?  Nah.  I can do it.

Tuesday was insanity because I had a test in Survey of Reading immediately followed by a test in Astronomy.  The Reading test I was fine with, mostly.  She always has a couple of questions that ask about the most minute of details from the reading.  Sometimes the answer is something I actually remember, sometimes it’s not.  I don’t worry about it because she curves the grades, making the highest earned score her “100” and then curving everyone else up accordingly.  For the past 2 tests, my grade has been one of the ones that set the curve.  I don’t think I was the only one who made the top score, but it’s nice to know I was among the top scorers both times.  Reading is a 3 hour class, and the teacher isn’t going to waste precious instructional time.  The tests only take about an hour, and she expects us to come back for the last 2 hours so that she can lecture.  Many students leave, but I can’t bring myself to.  She often takes the last 2 minutes of class to give us bonus assignments that are super-simple to do, or to give us extra assignments, or even to alter the assignments we’ve already been given.  So, yeah, I come back for class.  The problem on Tuesday was that she wasn’t watching the clock very closely and let us out really, really late.  The school schedules classes so that there are 10 minutes between sessions.  By the time Mrs. D let us out, the next class session had already started.

So, I’m flying upstairs to get to Astronomy, and when I get there, the test has already started.  We aren’t allowed to take our books to our seat.  We can only take what we need for the test – scantron, pencils, erasers, and occasionally a calculator.  I’m up at the front of the class, trying to be quiet getting my stuff out, digging for the homework that I have to turn in before he’ll give me the test, and Dr. F is cramming into my already full hands the homework that was turned in last time.  And he’s pissed at me on top of that.  When I was finally able to get settled at a seat with a test, I’m so flustered and completely not thinking about Astronomy, and when I start to read the questions, my mind is drawing total blanks.  I was so flustered that I actually skipped answering one of the questions.  You’re never supposed to do this on multiple choice tests.  It’s better to guess and have a chance of getting it right than to leave it blank and guarantee that you get it wrong.  Now that I think of it, if I had answered that question and gotten it right, I would have made an A.  Damn.  Instead, I broke my streak and made an 86.  Looking back, I should have realized that it never takes me more than about 20 minutes to take these tests.  Knowing that I was already late, I should have stopped for five minutes to compose myself and get my brain out of Reading and into Astronomy by scanning over my notes for the test.  Those questions that I had no clue on the answer would have been fresh in my mind and everything would have been fine.  Of course, I still made a high B, so I don’t know why I’m agonizing over this. 

Anyway, the hubby is waiting for me to get ready to go, so go I must.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 11, 2008 in daily life, general, school